What to Watch: August 2019

Summer TV is beginning to run slow as we prep for the start of the Fall season. This month sees the beginnings of some reality shows along with some new comedy specials. Most notable is the return of BH90210 as the cast of the iconic show play versions of themselves trying to revive the series. The Teen Choice Awards and the MTV VMAs may prove to have some noteworthy moments. On the big screen, Hobbs & Shaw bring some serious action and comedy to the Fast and Furious franchise. There are more family-friendly movies this month as Dora the Explorer and My Spy provide some end of summer family entertainment. Melissa McCarthy, Tiffany Haddish and Elizabeth Moss team-up in The Kitchen playing mob wives turned mob runners. The final highlight is a dog movie that is guaranteed to make you cry, Milo Ventimiglia stars in The Art of Racing in the Rain.  Check out the list below for what to watch August 2019!

What to Watch: August 2019

Thursday, Aug. 1

Million Dollar Listing New York: Season 8, 9 p.m., Bravo
iZombie: Season 5, Series Finale 8 p.m., The CW

Friday, Aug. 2

Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw – New in Theaters

Dear White People: Season 3, Netflix
This Is Football, Amazon Prime Video
Descendants 3, 8 p.m., Disney Channel (Film)
A Black Lady Sketch Show: Season 1 Premiere 11 p.m., HBO

Sunday, Aug. 4

Preacher: Season 4 Premiere, AMC
Serengeti: Series 1 Premiere 8 p.m., Discovery Channel

Monday, Aug. 5

Five Points: Season 2 Premiere, Facebook Watch

Tuesday, Aug. 6

Woodstock: Three Days That Defined a Generation, 9 p.m., PBS
The 100: Season 6 Finale 9 p.m., The CW

Wednesday, Aug. 7

BH90210: Season 1 Premiere  9 p.m., Fox

Thursday, Aug. 8

Two Sentence Horror Stories: Season 2 Premiere  8 p.m., The CW

Friday, Aug. 9

The Kitchen – New in Theaters
Dora and the Lost City of Gold
– New in Theaters
The Art of Racing in the Rain – New in Theaters

GLOW: Season 3 Premiere, Netflix
Rocko’s Modern Life: Static Cling, Netflix

Sunday, Aug. 11

Curse of Akakor, Facebook Watch
Teen Choice 2019, 8 p.m., Fox

Monday, Aug. 12

Lodge 49: Season 2 Premiere 10 p.m., AMC
Straight Up Steve Austin, 11 p.m., USA

Tuesday, Aug. 13

Tiffany Haddish Presents: They Ready, Netflix

Thursday, Aug. 15

Why Women Kill: Season 1 Premiere CBS All Access

Friday, Aug. 16

Blinded by the Light – New in Theaters
Good Boys
 – New in Theaters
47 Meters Down: Uncaged – New in Theaters
The Angry Birds Movie 2 – New in Theaters

Mindhunter: Season 2 Premiere  Netflix
Find Me in Paris: Season 2, Hulu
Jim Gaffigan: Quality Time Premiere Amazon Prime Video
Invader Zim: Enter the Florpus, Netflix

Saturday, Aug. 17

Zombie Tidal Wave 9 p.m., Syfy

Sunday, Aug. 18

Ball in the Family: Season 5 Premiere, Facebook Watch
I Am Patrick Swayze, 9 p.m., Paramount Network
The Righteous Gemstones: Season 1 Premiere 10 p.m. HBO

Monday, Aug. 19

I Ship It: Season 2 Premiere, 9:30 p.m., The CW

Tuesday, Aug. 20

Huda Boss: Season 2 Premiere, Facebook Watch

Wednesday, Aug. 21

This Way Up: Season 1 Premiere, Hulu
Ghost Hunters: Season 12, 9 p.m., A&E

Friday, Aug. 23

Angel Has Fallen – New in Theaters
My Spy
 – New in Theaters

Alonzo Bodden: Heavy Lightweight: Season 1 Premiere, Amazon Prime Video

Saturday, Aug. 24

Hitsville: The Making Of Motown, 9 p.m., Showtime

Sunday, Aug. 25

The Affair: Season 5 Premiere 9 p.m., Showtime
Power: Season 6 Premiere Starz

Monday, Aug. 26

MTV VMAs 2019, 9 p.m., MTV

Tuesday, Aug. 27

Young Justice: Outsiders Finale, 9 a.m., DC Universe

Wednesday, Aug. 28

Magical Land of Oz, 10 p.m., PBS
Jay Leno’s Garage: Season 5 Premiere 10 p.m., CNBC

Friday, Aug. 30

Playmobil: The Movie – New in Theaters

The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance: Season 1 Premiere, Netflix
Styling Hollywood, Netflix
Carnival Row: Season 1 Premiere, Amazon Prime Video

Missed something this summer? Check out our What to Watch lists for June and July!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *